Cookies & Privacy
in

Shed layout

Last post Fri, Dec 24 2010 15:49 by Bob the Builder. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Sep 27 2010 11:59

Shed layout

Hi Guys. Was thinking of upgrading some of housing arrangements for the autumn calving sucklers cows- what to move away from straw (well as much as possible anyway). Using straw beds with open yard at the moment - silage in round feeders.

What do you you use for sucklers - cubicles or straight on top of slats??? and what arrangement for calves i.e. creep area etc do you use

Any advice would be great

Thanks

• Mon, Sep 27 2010 17:46 In reply to

Re: Shed layout

Hi, I would advise you to go for cubicles and a small bedded area as a calf creep. Keeping udders clean would be a problem on slats I suspect, though I have no experience of this. Our sucklers have always been on cubicles with no probs, but you will need a bedded bull pen as bulls don't take very well to cubicles. Although our bull will lie in a cubicle he will always sleep in his bull pen at night, otherwise he gets a bit stiff, due to cubicles being too small for him.
  • Tue, Sep 28 2010 10:01 In reply to

• charliemoo
    • Top 150 Contributor
      Female
    • Joined on Sat, Feb 21 2009
    • Brecon Beacons, Wales

We have just come back from a trip to Northumberland, to look at a variety of sheds are we are thinking the exact same thing!! It boils down to whats going to suit you, your farm and your budget!

As far as we saw it, there are three types of sheds- straw bed based, cubicles and slats.

Straw bed based sheds are multi- functional, with the ability to store fodder, kit and other stock, they have a variety of alternative uses, but the bedding does cost. alternatives to straw are woodchip and paper.