Cookies & Privacy
in

What Qualifications are neeeded to become an Agronomist?

Last post Sat, May 2 2009 16:37 by ifegwu. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Jan 20 2008 13:29

• arable
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Jan 20 2008

What Qualifications are neeeded to become an Agronomist?

I am thinking of choosing a career in Agronomy.What qualifications do I need to become an Agronomist? I am currently studying for my Leaving certificate in Ireland.(A-levels in Britain) and need to find out what course I need to apply for it.

• Sun, Jan 20 2008 17:19 In reply to

Re: What Qualifications are neeeded to become an Agronomist?

Dont think you actually need anything in terms of higher education, although you will need FACTS and BASIS certificates, which you can often do as part of a land-based course at college.

It is the kind of career that actually lends itself to being trained 'in the field' - you may be able to go in as a trainee straight from a-levels, and do your professional training through them.

Best advice - speak to your own agronomist, or a large firm like Frontier, Masstock or Agrovista.

Good luck.

Not for print please.
  • Sun, Jan 20 2008 23:03 In reply to

• arable
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Jan 20 2008

Thanks TeslaCoils!

• Thu, Feb 28 2008 10:38 In reply to

• tim.
    • Top 150 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on Thu, Jan 31 2008

Having considered it as oneof my possible career options, I can say how valuable a degree in agricultural science is. As tesla says, BASIS and FACTS is a must. The degree really breaks the science of agriculture down, and you UNDERSTAND it. There arent many universities that offer a sciencey course, but there is Newcastle, Nottingham and Reading. I would say Nottingham is the most sciency out of all of them.

No-one knows what I do until I stop doing it!
  • Thu, Feb 28 2008 12:18 In reply to