Forums

What Qualifications are neeeded to become an Agronomist?

Started by arable

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

arable
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 1

I am thinking of choosing a career in Agronomy.What qualifications do I need to become an Agronomist? I am currently studying for my Leaving certificate in Ireland.(A-levels in Britain) and need to find out what course I need to apply for it.

TeslaCoilsTeslaCoils
    Topics: 39
    Replies: 2286

Dont think you actually need anything in terms of higher education, although you will need FACTS and BASIS certificates, which you can often do as part of a land-based course at college.

It is the kind of career that actually lends itself to being trained ‘in the field’ – you may be able to go in as a trainee straight from a-levels, and do your professional training through them.

Best advice – speak to your own agronomist, or a large firm like Frontier, Masstock or Agrovista.

Good luck.

arable
    Topics: 1

Thanks TeslaCoils!

tim.tim.
    Topics: 13
    Replies: 108

Having considered it as oneof my possible career options, I can say how valuable a degree in agricultural science is. As tesla says, BASIS and FACTS is a must. The degree really breaks the science of agriculture down, and you UNDERSTAND it. There arent many universities that offer a sciencey course, but there is Newcastle, Nottingham and Reading. I would say Nottingham is the most sciency out of all of them.

Mike Abram - Arable Deputy Editor
    Topics: 34
    Replies: 75

I’d agree the best start is probably to get an agricultural degree either from one of the Universities, or from one of the more traditional agricultrual colleges. But I’m not sure there is any absolute requirement for a degree to be an agronomist, and on the job training can be just as effective. But if you can go to University I would go – not least because it is a greta experience.