29 December 1995

Auditors watch the revenue

THE European Court of Auditors, based in Luxembourg, examines all the revenue and expenditure of the Community.

It also assists the European parliament and the Council of Ministers in checking the implementation of the annual community budget.

The 15 members, one from each EU country, have wide powers to investigate operations in and by member states and in non-member countries that receive aid.