21 October 1999
CEFTA in agricultural stalemate

THE seven members of the Central European Free Agreement (Cefta) have failed to reach agreement on further liberalisation of agricultural trade.

Agriculture has been Ceftas biggest failure, with a number of members in dispute with each other.

Poland and Slovenia have resisted liberalisation particularly strongly to protect their heavily subsidised farms.

The other members of Cefta are: the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria.