NVZ appeal list continues to grow

DEFRA’s list of the areas where land may be removed from a Nitrate Vulnerable Zone following successful appeals by farmers has grown to around 20 catchment areas.

The appeal process is reaching its conclusion and significant numbers of the 800 appeals submitted have been successful.

DEFRA has said that on the basis of appeals decisions made to date, land draining into the following water bodies is likely to be removed from an NVZ.

Derbyshire Derwent

Yorkshire Derwent

Lawyers Creek Drain

Meathop Marsh Drain

South Holland Drain

River Bollin

River Crouch

River Deer (with the exception of the Old Mills Stream)

River Helford

River Kemp

River Leith

River Meon (with the exception of the Whitewool Stream)

River Mells

River Mersey, between the weir at the Manchester Ship Canal and the confluence point of the River Goyt.

River Nene

River Rhyne

River Severn

River Tone

River Wear (with the exception of the Valley Burn tributary)

River Welland

DEFRA has stressed that it is unable to confirm the final status of specific holdings until revised maps have been produced in early 2010.

However, farmers in areas where there has been a successful appeal are being advised not to proceed with new slurry storage investment to comply with the NVZ action programme until DEFRA publishes the new maps.

The NFU has warned farmers that while the DEFRA website lists all the successful catchments it does not expect all land in these catchments to be de-designated.