No challengers for NFU presidency

NFU president Peter Kendall is set to be elected unopposed for a fourth consecutive term in office.

No challengers had emerged for the post of president by the time nominations for next month’s NFU elections closed at 5pm on Wednesday (11 January).

Voting is due to take place following the NFU annual conference and AGM in Birmingham on February. Successful candidates will serve a two-year term from 2012 to 2014.

Although Mr Kendall’s position is uncontested, there will still be a vote. He must secure 75% of the ballot to be returned to office because he has served three terms in office.

The full list of nominees is as follows: (in alphabetical order):

* Peter Kendall (incumbent)
Deputy President:
* Kevin Attwood
* Meurig Raymond (incumbent)
* Paul Temple

Vice President:
* Kevin Attwood
* Jonathan Brant
* Gwyn Jones (incumbent)
* Alistair Mackintosh
*Adam Quinney
* Anthony Rew
* Paul Temple

Nominees will now travel around the country to every NFU region to take part in hustings.

See more