Agriculture to fore in New Year awards

7 January 2000

Agriculture to fore in New Year awards

WELSH farm leader, Hugh Richards, NFU Wales-Cymru president, has been rewarded for his contribution to agriculture with an OBE in the New Years honours.

The list which is twice its usual length, also includes John Beringer CBE, past chairman of the Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment (ACRE) – the government committee responsible for the approval of new genetically modified organisms. Prof Beringer was knighted for services to environmental safety.

Senior civil servant Richard Packer, who resigned his post as permanent secretary at MAFF shortly before Christmas (see separate story), was also knighted.

Other awards:

LVO David Grapes, farm consultant to Sandringham Estate and the Royal Farms, Windsor.

CBE Richard Cowan, head of beef and sheep division, MAFF; Christopher Leaver, for services to plant sciences; Sir Jonathon Porrit, for services to environmental protection; Norman Simmons, for services to the promotion of food safety; Gordon Summerfield, chief executive Unigate European Food, for services to the food and dairy processing industry.

OBE Susan Bell, chief executive of National Forest Company, for services to forestry; John Campbell, chairman Glenrath Farms Ltd, for services to the poultry industry; John Craven, presenter Countryfile, for services to rural and childrens broadcasting; William Duncan, Grade 7, MAFF, Reading; Raymond Evison, for services to horticulture on Guernsey; Christopher Lloyd, journalist, for services to horticulture; Colin Maclean, director general Meat and Livestock Commission, for services to the British meat and livestock industry; Ian McQuiston for services to the National Trust and to conservation; John Rankin, farmer, for services to agriculture; James Seton, for services to the Scottish Agricultural College.

MBE Ian Allin, chief technical engineer for Agriculture Engineers Association, for services to the agriculture machinery industry; Michael Anderson, for services to agriculture and the Norfolk Agriculture Station; Annie Boreland, for services to the Agriculture Research Institute; Kate Braithwaite, for services to the rural community and the environment; Clifford Evans, farmer, for services to the Shropshire Rural Stress Network; Ronald Forsythe, for services to rural regeneration and to the community; Margaret Lothian, for services to the Galloway Cattle Society; Gary Mantle, director Wiltshire Wildlife Trust, for services to wildlife conservation; Raymond Parsons, farm manager at Easton College, Norwich, for services to agriculture and agricultural education in Norfolk; Wallace Page, for services to the Scottish Agricultural Wages Board; Victor Prow, UK marketing manager, Scotch Quality Beef and Lamb Association, for services to the Scottish meat industry; Mrs Susan Reddington, for services to the Meanwood Valley Urban Farm project, Leeds; John Sayer, for services to hill farming and to the conservation of the Yorkshire Dales; Ms Marion Twitchett, executive officer, MAFF, Bury St Edmunds; Nicholas Utting, for services to agriculture and to the community in Cumbria; Mrs Jessie Watt, lately Crofters Commissioner, for services to crofting and to agriculture in Shetland and Orkney; Jean Welch, lately support Grade band 1, MAFF; Walter White, for services to agriculture in Babworth, Nottinghamshire. &#42

See more