Big trophy for team from Herefordshire

18 December 1998

Big trophy for team from Herefordshire

HEREFORDSHIRES stock judging team won the coveted John Spear memorial trophy in the YFC competitions at the Royal Smithfield Show where competitors judged sheep and beef cattle both on the hoof and the hook.

The county gained top marks in the sheep classes and when the scores in the beef cattle classes were added on the county team of Joanna Lewis, James Hughes, Richard Hughes and Geoffrey Probert had the highest marks overall.

They beat the Yorkshire team (Helen Booth, Ben Ryder, Robin Booth and James Drake) by 18 marks while the Devon A team (Anita Williams, Fred Jones, Wendy Pile and Diane Pile) was third, just three marks behind.

Other results:

Sheep judging:

Junior 1 Joanna Lewis, Herefordshire A; 2 Robin Booth, Yorkshire A; equal 3 Wendy Pile, Devon A and Kay Williams, Gwent. Senior 1 James Hughes, Herefordshire A; 2 Diane Pile, Devon A; 3 Alun Breese, Montgomery, 4 Mary Cartmell, Staffordshire. Team 1 Herefordshire A (Joanna Lewis and James Hughes), 2 Devon A (Wendy Pile and Diane Pile), 3 Montgomery (Adrian Own and Alun Breese).

Beef judging:

Junior 1 Helen Booth, Yorkshire A, equal 2 Robert Willcox, Somerset and Jim Phillips, Worcestershire, equal 4 Peter Bristol, Lancashire and Jonathan Raw, Yorkshire B. Senior Equal 1 Geoff Ley, Devon B and Ben Ryder, Yorkshire A, 3 Clive Langford, Montgomery, equal 4 Matthew Edwards, Gwent, Geoffrey Probert, Herefordshire A and Elizabeth Jarvis, Yorkshire C. Team 1 Yorkshire A (Helen Booth and Ben Ryder), 2 Gloucestershire (Neil Goulding and David Marsh), 3 Glamorgan (Kate Miles and Simon Evans).

See more