Hilary Benn joined by three new junior ministers at DEFRA

New DEFRA minister Hilary Benn will be joined by three new junior ministers at the department as Gordon Brown’s ministerial re-shuffle extends to the lower reaches of government.

New to the department will be:

  • Phil Woolas (Oldham East & Saddleworth) who moves from the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Department for Communities and Local Government where he was a Minister for Local Government between 2005-07;
  • Joan Ruddock (Lewisham Deptford) who takes up her first official post in government; and
  • Jonathan Shaw (Chatham and Aylesford) who also takes up his first official position in government.

Former junior minister Ben Bradshaw moves to the Department of Health while Ian Pearson moves to the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.  Barry Gardiner returns to the backbenches.

Lord Rooker remains at DEFRA.

Upcoming webinar

What does the future of farming look like post Covid-19 and Brexit?

Register now
See more