Food agency members named today

12 January 2000

Food agency members named today

THE government will today announce the members of the new Food Standards Agency which starts work in April.

It has already been disclosed that Sir John Krebs, research professor at Oxford University, will lead the 500 staff at the agency.

The new bodys chief executive will be Geoffrey Podger, a civil servant who has been running Whitehalls joint food safety and standards group.

The government will also name a deputy chairman, who is expected to have a background in the consumer movement.

Twelve board members will be appointed at a later date.

Two will nominated by Scottish ministers, one by the Welsh Assembly and one by the Northern Ireland executive.

See more