Hilary Benn keeps his post as DEFRA secretary

Hilary Benn will remain as DEFRA secretary after the Prime Minister carried out a limited reshuffle of his Cabinet on Friday 5 June.

Mr Benn retained his seat in a reshuffle that left nine of the key Cabinet posts unchanged.

There were mixed fortunes for other former DEFRA ministers.

Mr Benn’s predecessor at DEFRA, David Miliband, retained his seat as foreign secretary and Nick Brown who led MAFF until 2001 has kept his post as chief whip.

One time animal health minister Ben Bradshaw was promoted to culture secretary but Margaret Beckett resigned her position as housing minister and will move to the back benches.

See more