Miliband names shadow DEFRA ministers

Labour leader Ed Miliband has completed his front bench line-up with the appointment of three shadow junior DEFRA ministers.

Jamie Reed (Copeland), Willie Bain (Glasgow North East) and Peter Soulsby (Leicester South) all join the shadow DEFRA team.

They will work under Wakefield MP Mary Creagh, who has been appointed shadow DEFRA secretary.

Mr Miliband said he was delighted with Labour’s front bench team.

“I am particularly pleased that I could bring in a new generation of talent, whilst also using the experience of a broad range of Labour MPs.

“This is a team from all parts of the party, which will robustly hold the coalition government to account.”

Mr Reed, who has represented the Copeland constituency since 2005, was named “one to watch” by the NFU ahead of this year’s general election.

Copeland is one of Labour’s most rural seats and has a strong farming community. It is also home to the Sellafield nuclear reprocessing facility.

Previously held by former farm minister Jack Cunningham, Copeland has been a Labour stronghold for the past 75 years.

Canal boat enthusiast Peter Soulsby has represented Leicester South since 2005.

Previously a city councillor, he has been on the board of British Waterways since July 1998, becoming vice-chairman in 2000.

Glaswegian Willie Bain has been MP for Glasgow North-East for just 11 months, being elected in November 2009.

A law graduate, his seat was previously held by Commons Speaker Michael Martin, who resigned during the parliamentary expenses scandal.

See more