Farming recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours

Caroline Drummond, chief executive of LEAF (Linking Environment and Farming), has been recognised in the 2009 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Ms Drummond, who has worked for LEAF since it was established in 1991, was awarded an MBE for services to the agriculture industry.

Also heading the list was Stewart Burgess the chairman for the Commission for Rural Communities who received a CBE for public and voluntary service.

The rest of the food and farming recipients were as follows:

Order of the Bath

Companions of the Order of the British Empire

Roger Bright. Chief executive, The Crown Estate. For public service

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Reverend Dr Stewart John Burgess. Chairman, Commission for Rural Communities. For public and voluntary service

Professor Steven Edwards. Lately chief executive, Veterinary Laboratories Agency, DEFRA

Professor Christopher John Lamb. Director, John Innes Centre, Norwich. For services to Plant Science

Delia Ann Smith. Cookery writer and Broadcaster. For services to the Food Industry

Professor David Clifford Stephen White. Lately director, Institute of Food Research. For services to Biological Sciences

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Brian Keith Jones. Regional director, North West Forestry Commission

Annette Gibbons. For services to the food and farming industries in Cumbria

Helen Raine. For services to the agri-food industry

Elaine Debono. head of rural payments, Welsh Assembly Government

Aileen Lee. For services to veterinary medicine, DEFRA

David George Hovenden Stewart. Chairman, North East Rural Affairs Forum. For services to the environment

Ian Agar Bell. Director, ARC-Addington Fund. For service to farming families

Anita Cormac. Executive director, Focus on Food Campaign and co-ordinator, Design Dimension Educational Trust. For services to special education

Morrison Mcallister. Lately director, Food Standards Agency, Northern Ireland

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Virginia Duncanson. For services to the farming industry and to conservation in Kent

Caroline Drummond. For services to the agriculture industry

The Honourable Richard Thomas Godber. For services to agriculture

David Anthony Miller. For services to horticulture in Guernsey

Trevor David Rodda. For services to the rural economy in Cornwall

Kenneth Unwin. For services to rural communities in Staffordshire

Russel George Woolcock. For services to agricultural and rural affairs in Devon

Michael James Piggott. Head of enforcement policy, DEFRA. For public and voluntary service

William Lloyd Williams. For services to the meat industry

Sheila Humphreys. For services to the Longshaw Sheep Dog Trials Association, Derbyshire

Esmond Havelock Melville Harris. For services to forestry and to conservation in the south west

See more