New leadership team voted in at NFYFC

A new chairman and supporting leadership team for 2013-14 has been elected at the National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs (NFYFC).

Claire Worden from the Cornwall Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs (pictured centre) was elected chairman by members of the NFYFC Council, replacing former chairman Milly Wastie. Hannah Talbot from Worcestershire FYFC and Chris Manley from Devon FYFC were elected as the two vice-chairmen.

During her year as chairman, Claire plans to head up a campaign about rural isolation to help raise awareness of the unique challenges faced by young people who live in the countryside and to demonstrate the support Young Farmers’ Clubs can offer.

“I love living in a very rural area of Cornwall, but it comes with its challenges,” said Claire. “YFC has helped me to stay connected and feel part of a much bigger community and I want to use my year as chairman to make more rural young people aware of our clubs so they can enjoy the same opportunities I did.”

The team will be charged with leading on the overall policy for the federation, continuing the development and leadership of YFCs to meet the needs of its members and developing the status and image of YFC to the outside world. Through steering groups, the National Council also decide and shape the programmes of work at NFYFC – planning events, competitions, campaigns and training for members.

The full NFYFC leadership team: 

Chairman: Claire Worden (Cornwall)

Vice-chairmen: Hannah Talbot, Chris Manley

Competitions chairman: David Hamer (Yorkshire)
Vice-chairman: Faith Cosgrove (Cambridgeshire)
Communications, events and marketing (CEM) chairman: David Maidment (Wiltshire)
Vice-chairman: Katie Davies (Pembrokeshire)
Personal development chairman: Nicola Chegwidden (Cornwall)
Vice-chairman: Sean Garrard (Lincolnshire)
Agriculture and rural affairs chairman: Russell Carrington (Herefordshire)
Vice-chairman: Remains open 

More on this topic

New entrant makes transition from sheep to dairy