Young Farmers – results for 2008 convention in Blackpool

Results from the 2008 Young Farmers convention and agm in Blackpool (2-4 May).

• HRH Prince of Wales Perpetual Challenge trophy – awarded to the club that raised the most money for charity per member: First – Cornwall YFC (£81.68/member); second – Suffolk YFC (£53.92/ member); third – Shropshire YFC

• YFC member of the year: Suzanne Lovatt, Staffordshire YFC

• NFU Trophy – awarded to the county that achieved most points in national competitions finals 2006/07: Herefordshire YFC

• Merrick Burrell tankard – for the county with the largest percentage increase in membership over the last two years: Surrey YFC

• Tug Wilson trophy – for the reserve champion county in national competitions final 2006/07: Derbyshire YFC

• Worshipful Company of Farmers trophy – for the champion small county (whose membership figures are among the lowest 50% of counties) in NFYFC competitions finals 2006/07: Bedfordshire YFC

• National entertainment final winner: Cornwall YFC (see our video of the finalists)

YFC winner 2008

Cornwall – winners of the national entertainments final

• Sydney Fawcett trophy – for the best contribution during this year’s AGM: James Chapman, Warwickshire YFC

• Stars in their eyes winner: Libby Hancock from Stamfordham YFC, Northumberland (visit our video of the finalists)

• National pub quiz final winner: Pembrokeshire Team A (Rhiannon Llewellin, Peter Llewellin, Roz Bushell, Wayne Shanklin)