Letters campaign for British beef

16 November 1999

Letters campaign for British beef

MINISTERS are trying to drum up support for British beef and have written to 58 countries asking if they are willing to renew or begin trade.

Four countries have refused so far — Malta, Russia, Singapore and Switzerland.

Five are keen to reopen the beef market: Mauritius, Cyprus, Hong Kong, Gibraltar and Falkland Islands.

The Czech Republic is willing to accept British beef but is waiting for importers to apply for import licences.

There are 48 countries which are still operating a ban or refusing to accept British beef. They include Egypt, Kuwait, Poland, Turkey, the USA and Zaire.

See more