Ulster clarion call…

9 May 1997

Ulster clarion call…

MICHAEL GRAHAM of Kesh YFC is the new president of the Young Farmers of Ulster. A former diploma student at Greenmount Agricultural College where he now works as farm manager, Michael was elected to the presidency at Forum 97, the YFCUs agm at Newcastle.

In his address he called upon Ulster young farmers to plan for the future and draw up strategic plan for at least the next five years. He would like to have the leading figures in Northern Irelands agricultural industry form a consulative committee to help young farmers plan for the future and provide opportunities for rural youth and the YFCU.

He spoke of the training and personal development that YFC gives young people, and said that he would like to see members gaining NVQ accreditation for their achievements.

Linda Steele of Kilrea YFC was elected deputy president. Vice-presidents are John McCallister (Rathfriland YFC), Wallace Gregg (Glarryford YFC), Sam Hawkes (Seskinore YFC) and Philip Cunningham (Garvagh YFC).

Ballycraigy YFC launched the John Bradley Challenge in memory of one of their members. The 1997 challenge is a raft race at Craigavon on June 27.


Alfa Laval recruitment trophy – Mountnorris YFC; secretary of the year – Joan Craig, Randalstown YFC; treasurer of the year – Donna Haslett, Dungiven YFC; PR officer of the year – Sandra Adams, Lisnamurrican YFC; Young farmer of the year – 1 Jay Warden, Newtownards; 2 Brian Robson, Holestone, 3 Robin Bolton, Kilrea. Best under 21 – Mark Stewart, Cairncastle. Conservation – William Haire, Lulehill. Sheep – Mark Stewart, Cairncastle. Beef – (equal) Stewart Baxter, Kesh, and Mark Stewart, Cairncastle. Pigs – Mark Stewart, Cairncastle. Grass – Jay Warden, Newtownards. Arable – Robin Bolton, Kilrea. Dairy – (equal) David Brodison, Moneymore; John Adams, Glarryford and Jay Warden, Newtownards. Machinery – Robin Bolton, Kilrea. Ballywalter YFC won the Limavady, Ballyvester and Mulholland cups; Ballywalter Jnr, Coleraine and Glarryford Jnr also received awards.

See more