F&M heroes at the forefront of New Year Honours List

11 January 2002

F&M heroes at the forefront of New Year Honours List

THE man who led the fight against foot-and-mouth in Cumbria has been made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire. Brigadier Alex Birtwistle received the CBE in the New Year Honours List. Scientists involved in F&M also received awards.

Neil Ferguson, Bryan Grenfell and Mark Woolhouse were made OBEs. Prof Ferguson, from Imperial College London, helped construct a computer model which predicted the spread of the F&M epidemic.

Zoology expert Dr Grenfell worked with colleagues from Cambridge University on an F&M study on the effectiveness of different control strategies.

Prof Woolhouse, from Edinburgh University, was among scientists who warned that moving livestock threatened to prolong the crisis.

Matt Twidale, chairman of the NFU sugar beet committee and NFU Council member and Cumbrian sheep farmer Peter Allen were made MBE. Other awards included:

&#8226 Knights Bachelor Terence Patrick Leahy, chief executive of Tesco. For services to food retailing; Graham John Melmoth, chief executive group (CWS). For services to the retail industry.

&#8226 Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) James Michael Rutter, chief executive of Veterinary Medicines Directorate and director of veterinary medicines at DEFRA.

&#8226 Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) James Strachan Cruickshank, seed potato grower. For services to the potato industry; Bridget Drew, lately director of ADAS Consulting. For services to the dairy industry; Alexander John Rennie Izat, chairman of Moredun Research Institute. For services to agriculture; Ian Duncan Robertson MacNicol. For services to the Country Land Owners Association and to agriculture in Norfolk; Andrew John Parker, chairman of the British Egg Industry Council. For services to the egg industry; Ann Margaret Waters, DEFRA; John Graham Wood. For services to the Food and Drink Federation and to food safety; Lawrence Woodward, director of Elm Farm Research Centre. For services to organic farming.

&#8226 Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) Hugh Turton Clark, sheep farmer. For services to the sheep industry in Suffolk; Lionel James Hill. For services to the Young Farmers movement; Andrew Bennett Ingram, farmer. For services to the Henley and District Agricultural Association, Oxon; Paul Cyril Johnson, senior countryside officer with the Countryside Agency. For services to the rural environment; William King. For services to ploughing; Jennifer Wilkinson. For services to agriculture and to the community in Cumbria; Kevin Ian Wilson, facilities manger at Citex. For services to agriculture. k

See more