Farming New Year honours

9 January 1998

Farming New Year honours

JOHN PATTISON, chairman of the governments BSE advisory committee, SEAC, was knighted in the New Year honours. Prof Pattison, Dean of University College London Medical School, was rewarded for his services to medicine.

Leading farmers who were recognised for their contribution to agriculture included Greer McCollum, former president of the Ulster Farmers Union, and Billy Kilpatrick, chairman of the National Cattle Association and vice-president and former chairman of the Holstein Friesian Society.

Other awards

&#8226 Order of the Bath, CB, Richard Carden, head of food safety and environment directorate, MAFF.

&#8226 CBE: Neville Bark, chairman of council, National Institute of Agricultural Botany, for services to agriculture.

Alfred Duncan, chairman Grampian Country Food Group, for services to agriculture.

lOBE: Bertram Annett, for services to animal welfare; Ashley Bowes for services to the Federation of Fresh Meat Wholesalers; Billy Kilpatrick, farmer, for services to the dairy industry and Holstein Friesian Society; William Lyons, lately regional director, Scottish Agriculture College, for services to agricultural education; Prof Thomas Maxwell, director, Macaulay Land Use Research Institute, for services to land use and hill farming; Greer McCollum, former president of the Ulster Farmers Union, for services to agriculture; Alan Stephenson, executive manager, Scottish Association of Meat Wholesalers, for services to the Scottish meat industry and to export; Edward Straiton, for services to the veterinary profession and to agriculture;

&#8226 MBE: Gerard Benbow, lately senior partner, Garston Veterinary Group, for services to veterinary science and to animal welfare; Houston Brown, for services to agriculture; John Eadson, farmworker, for services to agriculture in Mansfield, Notts; Michael Fussey, for services to the protection of public and animal health; James Gilzean, estate manager, Brahan Estates, Ross and Cromarty, for services to agriculture; James Hunter, senior agricultural officer, Scottish Office; Edmund Johnston, for services to the dairy industry; Thomas Jones, for services to agriculture and to the community in West Wales; Kenneth MacKay, master of works, the Royal Highland Agricultural Society of Scotland, for services to agriculture; Robert MacPherson, member, Farm Animal Welfare Council. For services to the veterinary profession and to animal welfare; David Nicolson, crofter and grazing clerk, Shetland, for services to agriculture; Owen ONeil, for services to horticulture in north Wales; William Rawling,for services to agriculture and to the community in Ennerdale, west Cumbria; Jane Sargeant, for services to livestock owners in the West Midlands; Prof Richard Wilson, member, council of English Nature.

See more