New Year Honours 2017 recognise agriculture

Scottish egg producer John Campbell has been awarded a knighthood in the 2017 New Year Honours list.

Mr Campbell, of Glenrath Farms, Peeblesshire, was knighted for his services to farming and charitable service to entrepreneurship.

A family-owned business, Glenrath Farms has grown to become one of the UK’s leading egg producing companies since it was established by John and Cathy Campbell in 1959.

See also: Turnover down but profit up at Glenrath Farms

The company is believed to be the largest business employer in the Scottish Borders.

It produces some 1.5m eggs daily and employees 240 people, with an annual turnover exceeding £50m and land holdings in excess of 6,000ha.

John Campbell

John Campbell

Other New Year Honours include:

Dame Commander (DBE), Order of the British Empire
Professor Henrietta Miriam Ottoline Leyser Day, CBE, Director, The Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge. For services to Plant Science, Science in Society and Equality and Diversity in Science.

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB)
Ms Sarah Church, Director, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. For services to British Food and Farming.

Dr Helen Mary Crews, lately Director, Animal and Plant Health Agency. For services to Plant and Bee Health and voluntary services to the community in York.

David Edward Cussons. For services to Agriculture and Rural Communities in North Yorkshire, particularly through the Ryedale Agricultural Show.

John William Greenslade. For services to Agricultural Education and Conservation in the West Country.

Dr John Donough Heber Keatinge, lately Director General, Asian Vegetable Research and Development Centre, World Vegetable Centre. For services to tropical agriculture and reduction of poverty and malnutrition in the developing world.

Ronald Philip McIvor, Chairman, Farmhouse Biscuits. For services to the Food Industry and the Economic Regeneration of East Lancashire.

Alistair Duffus Strachan. For services to Farming and the community in Cuminestown, Aberdeenshire.

Juanita Anne Francis, Mrs Wilson, Founder, Mossburn Community Farm, Lockerbie. For services to Vulnerable Children, Adults and Animals in Dumfries and Galloway.

British Empire Medal (BEM)
Victor Hird, Farm and Estates Manager, Brackenhurst Campus, Nottingham Trent University. For services to Land-Based Education.

Sheena Sandra, Mrs Lamond, Manager, Media Kitchen, James Hutton Institute. For services to Agricultural Science.

Ann, Mrs Orr. For services to Agriculture Industry and the Rural Community in County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland.

Gabriel Gerard Trueman, Chairman, Youth Advisory Committee for the East Down Rural Youth Work Project, Downpatrick. For voluntary service to Disadvantaged Children and Young People.

See more