Search is on for FW’s Farming Champion and Lifetime Achiever

Recognising those who make a real difference to farming has never been more important than at present, so we’re keen to hear your suggestions for two categories of the 2020 Farmers Weekly Awards which will shine a light on the great work individuals do to help others.

The Farming Champion category, sponsored by the NFU, will recognise the efforts of someone who in the past year has gone above and beyond the call of duty, in any capacity, to help the farming, food or ancillary sectors.

They will be someone who has worked hard and made a big difference to the lives and businesses of farmers and their families.

See also: More details on the Farmers Weekly Awards website

Perhaps you know someone who deserves this accolade? A relative, friend, neighbour or colleague? Alternatively, it’s fine to nominate yourself. All we need is a name and a line or two about why they’re worthy of the title (you can even remain anonymous if you’d like) and we’ll take it from there.

The 2019 winner was the late Patrick Joice, a Norfolk poultry farmer who did a huge amount to raise funds for – and awareness of – mental health issues.

Others who have been recognised in the past include Sylvia Crocker, a farmer who worked with supermarkets to encourage shoppers to buy fresh milk; farmer Michael Sly for his efforts in educating the public about agriculture; and Tom and Kay Hutchinson who collaborated with a filmmaker to show the realities of farming life.

Lifetime Achievement

The Lifetime Achievement category will recognise someone who has made a sustained contribution to agriculture or one of the ancillary sectors over many years.

It might have been through campaigning, voluntary work, introducing innovative technical or business methods, through working with young people, or any other successful efforts over a long period which have proved beneficial to agriculture.

Previous winners of this coveted award include Caroline Drummond, Lord Plumb, the late Professor John Alliston, the Reverend Dr Gordon Gatward, Sir Donald Curry and David Richardson.

You can share your nominations by emailing

See more