Farmers recognised in New Year Honours list

Farmers and people involved in the agriculture industry were among those honoured in the 2013 New Year Honours List.

Taking the title of Dame was former DEFRA secretary Margaret Beckett, who held office as Secretary of State between 2001 and 2006.

Meanwhile, receiving his knighthood was the designer behind the rural post box – Kenneth Grange.

The British Empire Medal (BEM) was awarded to Orchard conservationist Michael Gee for services to orchard conservation in North Devon, and Haddenham Young Farmers’ Club president David Fairchild, from Cambridgeshire, for services to the community.

In addition, Shetland crofter Agnes Jane Elizabeth Leask was honoured with a BEM for her services to crofting in Shetland.

Several MBE titles went to members of the farming community including West Sussex dairy farmers George Wentworth Butler, for his services to agriculture and charity.

Other recipients included former national president of the UK and Irish Dexter Society, Deirdre Elizabeth Hilton, for her services to the conservation of Dexter cattle in Northern Ireland.

Scottish farmer, Pamela Rodway, who farms at Wester Lawrenceton Farm, Forres, Moray, was honoured for her services to the promotion of sustainable food production and food education in Scotland.

County Tyrone farmer Kenneth James Sharkey, who is a member of the Livestock and Meat Commission, was awarded an MBE for services to agriculture in Northern Ireland. And Robert Emile Collins, was honoured for his services to Meanwood Valley Urban Farm and the community in Leeds, Yorkshire.

Gary Charles Taylor, managing director of Valley Grown Nurseries and former vice-chairman of the NFU Horticulture and Potato board was given an MBE for his services to the UK pepper industry.

Peter Wilson (c) Rex Features
Olympic champion Peter Wilson.

MBEs also went to Worcestershire dairy farmer John Bennett for services to the community in Worcester and Olympic double trap champion (and Dorset farmer’s son) Peter Wilson for services to shooting.

Wilhelmina Elizabeth Houston, a staff officer at the College of Agriculture, Food and Rural Enterprise, Northern Ireland Executive, was also awarded an MBE.

Receiving a CBE was Liberal Democrat MP, farmer and former Brecon and Radnorshire NFU branch chairman Roger Williams for public and political service.

Meanwhile, Dr Miles Michael Parker, director of strategic evidence and analysis at DEFRA, was awarded an OBE for services to improving government science. Women in Rural Enterprise director Polly Gibb was also awarded an OBE for services to rural enterprise.

More on this topic

New Year Honours recognise farming

See more