Balmoral 2014: Beef breed championship results


The Hereford championship was awarded to the champion female Solpoll 1 Starlet from Alwyn Armour, Ballynahinch, Co. Down. Sired by Solpoll 1 Dynamite she is out of Solpoll 1 Starlet.

Hereford Champion web

Taking the reserve breed championship was the male champion Dorepoll 1 579 Knighthood from JE, RI and W Haire, Dundrod, Crumlin. Sired by Dorepoll 1 299 Heritage he is out of Dorepoll 1 518 Tessa.


Beef Shorthorn

Scottish judge Douglas Biggar awarded the overall championship rosette to James Porter’s senior female, May 2007-born cow Uppermill Rothes Joan. Sired by Uppermill Bartle and out of Rothes Jubilee, she was shown with her calf at foot.

Beef Shorthorn Champion - Native Breed Champion web

The reserve ticket was awarded to another cow and calf pair, William and Jill McAllister’s March 2009-born Glengloy Lovely Chanelle. Sired by Glenisla Zinzan she is out of Glengloy Lovely Tara.


Commenting on his champion Mr Biggar said she was very clean through the shoulders and had a correct udder.

He added the females in the class were “world class” and a great example of why the Beef Shorthorn was making a strong comeback.



The Charolais overall championship rosette was awarded to Mr Patrick Gallagher’s May 2010-born bull, Rumsden Fawkes. Sired by Thrunton Voldemort and out of Rumsden Avalon.

Charolais Champion web

The reserve rosette went to Brian McAllister and Son’s May 2013-born bull Burnside Iceberg. Sired by Clyth Diplomat and out of Burnside Eimp.



Scottish judge Gordon Clark, awarded the championship rosette to J L and C J Weatherup’s May 2012-born bull Dermotstown Delboy. Sired by Kilbride Farm Newry and out of Brookwood Regina.

Mr Robin Boyd’s March 2013-born bull Slievenagh Emperor 13 was awarded the reserve rosette. Sired by Curaheen Apostle, he was out of Slievenagh Aileen.


British Blonde

Overall championship rosette was awarded to I and R McElroy and Son’s October 2008-born cow, Ivaniskey Denise, with her January 2014-born calf at foot. She was sired by Doncombe Aga Khan and out of Ivaniskey Vanessa.

Blonde Champion web

The reserve prize was awarded to H D Dorman and Family’s February 2012-born heifer, Coole Honey. She was sired by Silverwood Colly and out of Coole Abbey.



Returning to Balmoral to reclaim the champion title for a consecutive year was William McAllister’s Millbrook Ginger Spice, from Oldcastle, Meath. Sired by Wilodge Vantastic she is out of Milbrook Baby.


Limousin overall champion - Millbrook Ginger Spice

Limousin overall champion – Millbrook Ginger Spice

Runner-up was the Jan 2012-born bull Lynderg Hero from Lynderg Limousin, Banbridge, Co Down. Sired by Lynderg Eisenhower he is out of Lynderg Diana.


Aberdeen Angus

Champion rosette was awarded to Albert De Cogan’s April 2009 born bull Rosemead Karona, sired by Rosemead Jerone and out of Rosemead Karlotta.

Aberdeen Angus champion - Rosemead Karona

Aberdeen Angus champion – Rosemead Karona

In reserve was James Porter’s January 2012-born Luddenmore Fort Worth, sired by Luddenmore Eclipse and out of Luddenmore Fleur.


British Blues

The championship was awarded to Martin Brothers’ Jan 2011-born cow Springhill Golden Girl, sired by Gitan Du P,Tit Mayeur and out of Springhill Country Girl.

British Blue Champion web

In reserve was Trevor Dodds’ October 2012-born heifer Timoney Garnet sired by the prolific Empire D’Ochain and out of Sheehills Diamond.



In championship position was J and EA Elliot’s March 2011-born bull Gladiateur sured by Vermieill and out of Victoire.

Reserve went to George McCall’s Feb 2012-born Carrick View Heloise, sired by Rio and out of Clarine



Champion was Briggs and Crowe’s heifer Saltire Wrist sired by Saltire Ixia and out of Saltire Wrag.

Reserve was awarded to James McCullough’s cow Ballyhartfield Bliss, sired by Bunlougher Squirrel and out of Ashieburn Arran.


Irish Moiled

Champion was Tommy Jackson’s bull Macmann Apple sired by Dunbar Adam and out of Glassdrummond Cherry.

Reserve was Linda Davis’ cow Ballyvesey Palm sured by Ballyvesey Ben and out of Ballyvesey Snowdrop.