Balmoral show 2013: Sheep breed championships



Champion: Mr A J Thornburn’s ram, from Annan, Dumfriesshire.

Reserve: Mr Cyril Cromie’s ewe from Ballynahinch, Co Down.




Champion: Mr Henry Gamble’s ewe, from Bangor, Co Down.

Reserve: Mr Richard Henderson’s shearling ewe, from Magherafelt, Londonderry.


Dorset Horn and Poll

Champion: Mr Thomas Wright’s Ram Lamb (574) from Ballymoney, Co Antrim.

Reserve: Mr and Mrs Raymond and Julie’s shearling ewe (595), from Doagh, Ballyclare.



Champion: Matthew Burleigh’s Ram lamb (745), from Enniskillen, Fermanagh.

Reserve:  Miss Elizabeth McAllister’s ram lamb (748) from Ballymena, Co Antrim.


Rare breeds

Champion: Mr Samuel Kerr’s shearling ewe (890), from Moira, Armagh.

Reserve: Karen Carson’s ewe lamb (898), from Ballymena.



Champion: Fred and June Loughridge’s Ram (two shear and over) (903), from Ballymoney, Co Antrim.

Reserve:  John Blayney’s Ewe (two shear and over; 906), from Ballymena, Co Antrim.



Champion: Williams McAllister’s shearling ewe, from Kells, Ballymena.

Reserve: Diane Christie’s Ewe (two shear and over), from Newtownards, Co Down.



Champion: Gary Beacom’s shorn ewe, from Fivemiletown, Fermanagh.

Reserve: William Montgomery’s ram lamb, from Comber, Co Down.


Border Leicester

Champion: David Mawhinney’s ewe, from Newtownards.

Reserve: Graham and McCrum’s shearling ram, from Newtownards.


North Country Cheviot

Champion: Tommy McKean’s ram, from Killaloo, Co Londonderry.

Reserve: Desmond Robinson’s shearling ewe, from Ballymena, Co Antrim


Perth Type Blackface

The Curran brothers, from Co Londonderry, scopped the double, winning the champion and reserve tickets, with their ewe (two shear and up) taking first prize and shearling ewe following up the rear.



Champion: Hamill D and N and Sons’ ewe, from Crumlin, co Antrim.

Reserve: Hugh Henry’s ewe, from Ballymena,



Champion: Brian Malcomson’s Ram, from Ballynahinch, Co Down.

Reserve: Sean and Fiona McAllister’s shearling ewe, from Ballycastle, Co Antrim.



Champion: Beltrim Jacobs’ ram, from Omagh, Co Tyrone.

Reserve: Cyril Cromie’s ewe, from Ballynahinch, Co Down.



Champion: N Michael Graham’s ewe, from Antrim.

Reserve: Jayne Tannahill’s shearling ewe from Coleraine.