Royal Welsh Show 2013: Pig champions

Winning the Welsh pig champion rosette was Mr and Mrs J Taylor’s sow Hideaway Impish 182. Born in April 2012 she is sired by Hideaway Arthur 21 and is out of Hideaway Impish 43.

In reserve was Mr and Mrs Teifi Evans and Son’s boar Goldfoot Vulcan 21, sired by Goldfoot Vulcan 17 and out of Goldfoot Lucky Girl 1211.

Winning champion breed in the Modern Pig class was Aeron and Iwan Owens’ Ceirios Marylin, sired by Ceirios Esmer and out of Ceirios Marilyn.

In the reserve spot was Mr and Mrs Taylor’s Hideaway Judy 242 sired by Coldwell Route and out of Hideaway Judy 242.

The champion Saddleback was awarded to David and Lucy Perkins’ sow Pantysgawen Rosette 14, sired by Plane Grand Duke 4 and out of Pantysgwen Rosette 3.

In the Tamworth section it was Miss L Shankland who claimed the breed championship with her sow Shutevale Princess 810, sired by Billquay Golden Ball 242A and out of Shutevale Princess 657.

In reserve was Mrs Barbara Warren’s gilt Courtbleddyn Jacqueline 26D, sired by Courtbleddyn Jacqueline 832.

And finally the traditional breed championship title was awarded to Miss C and L Nicholas’ boar Catrin Prince 4 7007 sired by Popularbur Prince 3 and out of Bakers Actress 24.

Runner up was a younger boar also from the same home. Catrin Prince 7001 is also sired by Popular Prince 3, but is out of Giltedge Harmony 37.