Ministers co-ordinate animal welfare

21 July 2000

Ministers co-ordinate animal welfare

THE government has announced a new interdepartmental ministerial group to co-ordinate its animal welfare strategy.

It includes representatives of the ministry of agriculture (MAFF), the department of the environment, transport and the regions (DETR) and the Home Office (HO).

The Scottish Executive, the National Assembly for Wales and Northern Ireland Assembly will also participate when devolved animal welfare issues are discussed, said MAFF.

Among the groups responsibilities are welfare of livestock on farm, at market, in transit and at slaughter, and of animals in transit and at import and export.

In a statement the group said ministers would meet to monitor progress towards the agreed animal welfare aims, as well as proposing new ideas and reviewing strategy.

Members include Elliot Morley (MAFF), Chris Mullin (DETR) and Mike OBrien (Home Office).

Devolved administration members are Ross Finnie (Scottish Executive); Christine Gwyther (the National Assembly for Wales); and Brid Rogers (Northern Ireland Assembly).

See more