Jersey scoops top honours at Ballymena Show

More than 15,000 spectators, exhibitors and judges basked in the sunshine at County Antrim Agricultural Association’s 109th annual show, held at Ballymena Showgrounds, reports our local eyes and ears, Julie Hazelton.

Fresh from success at Balmoral Show a couple of weeks ago where they lifted the interbreed dairy title, the Fleming Family from Seaforde, County Down, were out in force again scooping yet another interbreed championship award.

The winner on this occasion was the October 2004 born Potterswalls Connection Lady, a home-bred Giprant Belles Connection daughter in her third lactation. Judge, Harri Evans, Anglesey, also crowned her champion of champions in the cattle section.

Scooping the reserve overall cattle championship was a stylish young Simmental heifer bred by David Hazelton, Dungannon, County Tyrone. Ranfurly Weikel 3rd is just fourteen-months-old, and had caught the eye of interbreed beef cattle judge, David Leggat, Perth, earlier in the day.


She was sired by Hillcrest Champion, and is out of the prize winning South Park King Kong Weikel – dam of the 2007 Ballymena Show champion of champions, Ranfurly Talisman – which sold at Perth for a herd record of 9000gns.

The reserve interbreed dairy honours went to the Ayrshire champion, Ravenhill Ethel 361, a VG classified third calver brought out by John Suffern from Crumlin, County Antrim.

Claiming the reserve interbreed beef championship was the Charolais leader, Coolnaslee Countess, a March 2007 born Allanfauld Superscot daughter owned by Gilbert Crawford, Maghera, County Londonderry.

The interbreed sheep section was led by a Dorset ewe shown by Thomas Wright from Ballymoney. Reserve place in the interbreed line-up went to Sean Doyle from Ballyward, County Down, for his Hampshire Down ram lamb.



Holstein – champion: David and Hilary Wilson, Newtownabbey, with Gravelhill Corvet 16 by Gravelhill Manat; reserve: John Patterson and Sons, Crumlin, with Ballyginniff Jasper White Rose by Wilcoxview Jasper.


Ayrshire – champion: John Suffern, Crumlin, with Ravenhill Ethel 361 by Ravenhill Innisfree. Reserve: Irwin Bros, Portstewart, with Craigtown Bonnie 10 by Mardel Plata.


Jersey – champion: Fleming Family, Seaforde, with Potterswalls Connection Lady by Giprat Bells Connection; reserve: Fleming Famlily with Potterswalls Juno Glamour 2 by Potterswalls Lord Juno.





Aberdeen Angus – champion: John and Ann Henning, Maghaberry, with Drumcorn Ergessa C265 by Ballamanaugh Estefan; reserve: Sam Matchett, Portadown, with Cloghogue Evolution by Coneyisland Legend.


Hereford – champion: John and William McMordie, Ballygowan, with Solpoll 1 Dynamite by Udel 1 Vindicator; reserve: J and K Taggart, Newtownards, with Knockmountagh Eimear by Meiltron Leisure.


Charolais – champion: Gilbert Crawford, Maghera, with Coolnaslee Countess by Allanfauld Superscot; reserve: Sean McGovern, Clogher, with Ratoary D Turbo by Oldstone Egbert.


Simmental – champion: David Hazelton, Dungannon, with Ranfurly Weikel 3rd by Hillcrest Champion; Reserve: Robin Boyd, Portglenone, with Slievenagh Wyatt by Kilbride Farm Newry.


Limousin – champion: Raymond Crawford, Maguiresbridge, with Sylwandene Duchess by Vantastic; reserve: Derek Hume, Randalstown, with Culnagechan Doulgas by Cloughhead Umpire.


Blonde d’Aquitaine – champion: Ivaniskey Livestock, Dromara, with Doncombe Aga Khan by Druk Lance; Reserve: Henry Dorman, Dungannon, with Coole Colleen by Blackwater Solvit.


British Blue – champion: Zara Chestnutt, Bushmills, with Clougher Wendy by Visconti; reserve: Andrew Craig, Coleraine, with Woodview Britney by Dafydd.


Salers –  champion: J and E A Elliott, Newtownstewart, with Unity by Romauld; reserve: D McClements and Sons, Portaferry, with Slito Hallie by Voltaire.


Commercial beef cattle – champion: William McAllister, Kells, with Duffy (Charolais); reserve: James Alexander, Randalstown, with Sir Loin (Limousin).


Parthenaise – champion: David and Robert Sloan, with Crystal by Turbo; reserve – Frank and Archie McGowan, Ballymoney, with Highland View Debbie by Uniforme.


Rare breeds – champion: Thomas and Kate Madden, Ballymena, with Chapelton Heathermaid by Fearn Rhuaridh; reserve: Thomas and Kate Maddey, with Ballyvaddy Kyla by Buffalo Lake Block Buster.




Border Leicester – champion:  J Aiken, Dromara; reserve: J Aiken.

Cross-bred – champion: James and Elizabeth Gould, Garvagh; reserve: James and Elizabeth Gould.

Dorset – champion: Thomas Wright, Ballymoney; reserve: S and S Wilson, Ballyclare.

Suffolk – champion: William Tait, Omagh; reserve: R C and J C Watson, Rasharkin.

Texel – champion: Alastair Gault, Newtownabbey; reserve: James Adams, Glarryford.

Ile de France – champion: Mark and Samantha Robinson, Portadown; reserve: Trevor Boyd, Pomeroy.

Hampshire Down – champion: Sean Doyle, Ballyward; reserve: A and C McFadden, Banbridge.

Charollais – champion: Diane Christie, Comber; reserve: Diane Christie.

Bluefaced Leicester – champion: Michelle Wright, Carnlough; reserve: Timothy Wray, Carnlough.

Mules – champion: Michelle Wright; reserve: Mark Galbraith, Coleraine.

Perth Blackface – champion: Rodger Crawford, Ballymena; reserve: Sam Adams, Ballymena.

Lanark Blackface – champion: Ben Crawford, Ballymena; reserve: James McCurdy, Broughshane.

Greyface – champion: James Mills, Larne; reserve: A J Graham, Antrim.

North Country Cheviot – champion: Desmond Robinson Jnr, Ballymena; reserve: Tommy McKean, Londonderry.

Kerryhill – champion: James McClintock, Ballymena; reserve: Sean and Fiona McAllister, Ballycastle.

Beltex – champion: Elizabeth McAllister, Kells; reserve: Elizabeth McAllister.

Zwartbles – champion: Stephen Girvan., Kells; reserve: Liam Campbell, Carnlough.

Rare breeds – champion: Dr Thomas B Cole, Carryduff; reserve: Lynda Jamison, Hillsborough.